SQL2K8R2 BPA again…. because I was a little bit wrong

I have to apologize, because I made a little mistake in my previous post.

It is correct that the MBCA has a problem running properly when group policies are defined, BUT I was wrong with the remote scanning.

Let me explain my little “mistake”:

If you´re running the MBCA there are two ways scanning a machine.

1. choosing ‘Connect to another Computer’ as shown here

BPA_1

Then you´ll probably get the error as described in the previous post (the execution policy stuff)

So, the 2nd way to go is:

Choose the SQL Server 2008 BPA from Dropdown menu and click ‘Start Scan’

BPA_2

In the next menu, you can define parameters for scanning as well as another computer!

BPA_3

So, sorry that I was wrong saying you cannot scan remote computers easily.

I will try to play around a little bit with the BPA. If I find more interesting stuff or issues, I will let you know.

Über Dirk Hondong

A MS server and ms sql server admin guy from germany. want to improve my skills a little bit, sharing my daily experience
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter SQL Server abgelegt und mit verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

3 Antworten zu SQL2K8R2 BPA again…. because I was a little bit wrong

  1. Vinny schreibt:

    Interesting blog notes: Thanks for that. I have been running into problems with running BPA 2008 R2.
    when trying it with command line i got a message in the error log Engine Rules Execution Interrupted – Current User Name is unavailable or is disabled on (COMPUTERNAME)

    My other woes on running this are mentioned in my post at SQLSERVERCENTRAL.com

    http://ask.sqlservercentral.com/questions/36920/sql-server-2008-r2-best-practice-analyzer-problems-connecting-to-sql

    Any help would be appreciated

    thanks,
    Vin

    (post moved from old blog to new one)

  2. Vin schreibt:

    resolved the problem by tweaking some of the .ps1 files for BPA:

    http://ask.sqlservercentral.com/questions/36920/sql-server-2008-r2-best-practice-analyzer-problems-connecting-to-sql

    (comment moved from old blog to new one)

    • Dirk Hondong schreibt:

      Hi Vin,

      thx for the comments and sharing your experience.
      Also sorry that I didn´t reply your 1st comment.

      And one more information:
      feleryan.wordpress.com isn´t the recent url anymore.
      Therefore I have moved your comments to my actual blog.
      I´m not sure why the old adress is still accessible. I think I´ll drop it in near future.

      Maybe you can correct the url at ask.sqlservercental.com as well

      Regards
      Dirk

Kommentar verfassen

